Reproduction Reimagined

by Cepri

Survey

For a better understanding of the goals, problems and prospects of Entopreneurs in the area of Insect breeding, we have created a short Survey.

It takes under 5 Minutes to complete and your Answers are highly valuable to us.

 

We hope to use this Information to create solutions that address exactly what you need.

 

The entire survey & evaluation is Anonymous so the Information you provide cannot be attributed to your persona / company!

The Reproduction

General

Mealworm reproduction includes the pupation of the larvae, the keeping of the beetles and the redistribution of the insect eggs. After larvae have been fed for several weeks, they begin to pupate. The pupa is immobile and after several days of metamorphosis it finally develops into a meal beetle. The meal beetles are sexually separated, so only the female beetles lay eggs after mating.

The Problem

The pupa & egg stages are very prone to physical stress. On an industrial scale, however, the stages have to be laboriously separated from one another in order to prevent, for example, cannibalism of mealworms and beetles on pupae and eggs. These technical processes increase mortality many times over and thus influence the performance of insect farms, so that they can only produce around half the possible number of insects.

Exponential Potential

A female meal beetle can lay up to 400 eggs. If all offspring survived, there would be 16 million * insects in the 3rd generation. This corresponds to a harvest weight of 1600 kg. On an industrial scale, even a small reduction in mortality can lead to a huge increase in output. Reproduction is the key element for successfully scaling insect farms to an industrial scale.

The Solution

Through innovations in the keeping of the beetles, the separation of the different stages and the distribution of the insect eggs, we reduce the mortality in the insect population and increase the number of offspring many times over, so that the full potential of an insect farm can develop.

Customer Value

Our solutions help insect farmers to use the full reproductive potential of their insect population while reducing complexity and the amount of work required. This not only enables higher efficiency and faster scalability of existing insect farms, but also makes it easier to get started with insect farming.

Subscribe to our Newsletter if you want to be up to date with our latest developments. 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2020 Cepri-Tech.

Reproduction Reimagined

by Cepri

Die Reproduktion

Allgemein

Zur Reproduktion der Mehlwürmer gehört die Verpuppung der Larven, die Haltung der Käfer und die Neuverteilung der Insekteneier. Nachdem Larven über mehrere Wochen gefüttert wurden, beginnen sie sich zu verpuppen. Die Puppe ist ein immobiles Stadium und nach einer mehrtägigen Metamorphose entwickelt sich aus ihr schließlich ein Mehlkäfer. Die Mehlkäfer sind getrenntgeschlechtig, sodass nur die weiblichen Käfer nach der Verpaarung Eier ablegen.  

Das Problem

Puppen- & Ei-Stadium sind sehr anfällig für physischen Stress. Im Industriellen Maßstab müssen die Stadien jedoch aufwendig voneinander abgetrennt werden um z.B. Kannibalismus von Mehlwürmern und Käfern an Puppen und Eiern zu verhindern. Diese technischen Prozesse erhöhen die Mortalität um ein Vielfaches und beeinflussen damit die Leistung der Insektenfarmen, sodass sie nur etwa die Hälfte der möglichen Menge an Insekten produzieren können. 

Exponentielles Potential

Ein weiblicher Mehlkäfer kann bis zu 400 Eier legen. Würden alle Nachkommen überleben, gäbe es bereits in der 3. Generation 16 Millionen* Insekten. Dies entspricht einem Erntegewicht von 1600 kg. In einem industriellen Maßstab kann bereits eine kleine Reduktion der Mortalität zu einer immensen Zunahme des Outputs führen. Die Reproduktion ist das Schlüsselelement für eine erfolgreiche Skalierung von Insektenfarmen in einen industriellen Maßstab.

Die Lösung

Durch Innovationen in der Haltung der Käfer, der Trennung der verschieden Stadien und der Verteilung der Insekteneier reduzieren wir die Sterblichkeit in der Insekten-Population und erhöhen die Anzahl an Nachkommen um ein Vielfaches, sodass sich das volle Potential einer Insektenfarm entfalten kann. 

Kundennutzen

Unsere Lösungen helfen Insektenfarmern dabei, das volle Reproduktionspotential ihrer Insektenpopulation zu nutzen und reduzieren dabei die Komplexität und den nötigen Arbeitsaufwand. Das ermöglicht nicht nur eine höhere Effizienz und eine schnellere Skalierbarkeit bestehender Insektenfarmen, sondern erleichtert auch den Einstieg ins Insektenfarming. 

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter wenn Sie über weitere Entwicklungen informiert bleiben möchten.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2020 Cepri-Tech.